How Many Local Governments are in Lagos State? [FIND OUT]

Interested in how many local governments are in Lagos State? This post provides a comprehensive breakdown and insights into all the local government areas in the region.

Lagos State is home to twenty local government areas, which represent a diverse range of cultures and economic outputs within the state. From the bustling commercial hub of Ikeja to the culture-filled Epe district, Lagos’ LGAs each have their own unique identity. In this article, we look at how many local government areas there are in Lagos and explore some of their key characteristics and differences in wealth.

List of Local governments in Lagos State and Their Chairman

Lagos State is made up of twenty local government areas, each of which has its own government and council. Find out more about the local government areas in Lagos State, including their boundaries and population size.

The twenty local governments that make up the Lagos State are Agege, Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Eti-Osa, Ibeju-Lekki, Ifako-Ijaiye, Ikorodu, Kosofe, Lagos Island, Mashi/Isashi Ojo, Oshodi-Isolo, Shomolu and Surulere. In addition to these local government areas, there is also Ikeja Local Council Development Area (LCDA).

The local government areas in Lagos State with their chairman are as follows: Alimosho (Mr. Mukaila Akinola), Apapa (Aransiola Martin), Eti-Osa (Hon. Adedeji Doherty), Agege (Efuntade Gbolahan Lawrence), Amuwo-Odofin (Engr Abdulfatai Elegushi), Ikeja (Mr. Ayodele Oke), Ibeju Lekki (Engr. Omowale Joseph) and Ifako Ijaye (Olaitan Olugbenga Ola). The chairman of each local government area is also determined by the state government.

Which Local Govt Is the Largest in Lagos State?

Alimosho Local Government is the largest local government area in Lagos State. It covers a total of 166 km2 and has a population of over 3 million people. It is also home to many prominent communities in Lagos such as Bariga, Iyana Ipaja, Ayobo, Egan and Igando. The area is known for its thriving commercial activities with streets like Oyinbo and Akala markets serving as major tourist attractions.

Which is the Highest Revenue Generating Local Government in Lagos State?

When it comes to revenue generation, Alimosho Local Government is the highest, generating an annual revenue of ₦7.3 billion. Following closely behind is Apapa Local Government with a yearly income of ₦4.2 billion. Eti-Osa follows with a yearly revenue of ₦2.9 billion and Ikeja with a yearly figure of ₦2.6 billion, remaining the top four largest local governments as far as revenue is concerned.

Which LGA is the richest in Lagos?

With a population of over 20 million people, Lagos is the most populous city in Nigeria. It is also the state with the highest number of Local Government Areas (LGAs), standing at 20 in total. Of these LGAs, Ikoyi-Obalende and Victoria Island are arguably some of the richest.

With their white sandy beaches, cosmopolitan lifestyle, and beautiful high-rise buildings, these local government areas are known for their affluence. In addition to their wealth, they have some of the best educational institutions and infrastructure you could find in the country.

ALSO SEE: Private Universities in Lagos and their Prices

Where is the Cheapest Place to Live in Lagos?

Although Victoria Island and Ikoyi-Obalende are considered some of the richest places to live in Lagos, they don’t have to be the most expensive. Other areas such as Amuwo Odofin, Badagry, and Somolu also offer more affordable prices. For those hoping to get the best benefits of living in Lagos without breaking the bank, these LGA’s are worth looking into for housing, schools or other services.

Who is the Owner of Lekki?

Lekki is an affluent, residential and commercial area of Lagos State. It is owned by the government of Lagos State and is made up of several local government areas. The major ones include Ikoyi-Obalende, Epe, Badagry, Agege, Amuwo Odofin, Eti Osa and Apapa – divided into three major clusters – Mainland, Island and Semi-Urban Areas. Some popular attractions in the Lek ki area are the Freedom Park Marginside, a popular recreational park, the Nike Art Centre – a cultural installation for art exhibitions, Tejuosho Market – one of Lagos’ foremost marketplaces as well as Eleko Beach which attracts many visitors from all over.

Some establishments in Lekki with their respective owners include:

  • Lekki Gardens: Richard Nyong
  • Lekki luxury cars: Udealor Emmanuel Nonso
  • Lekki Estate: Richard Nyong
  • Lekki sea port: Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Lekki Conservation center: Unknown
  • Lekki Deep Sea port: the China Harbour Engineering Company and Tolaram group
  • Lekki concession company: The Lagos state Government
  • Evercare hospital Lekki: The Evercare Group

Where is the Safest Place to Live in Lagos?

When it comes to the number of local governments in Lagos State, there are several different options for those looking for the safest place to live. In Epe, Isheri-Olofin and Ebute-Meta areas are considered amongst the safest places due to good security measures. Lagos Island Local Government is also renowned for its safety as a result of its well-kept streets and public parks. Additionally, Ikorodu is regarded as a safe place to live because of its familial atmosphere and tight-knit community nature.

Which is the oldest LGA in Nigeria?

The oldest local government area in Lagos State is Epe. While this may come as a surprise to many, the region is home to Nigeria’s oldest town – Epe Town – and dates back as far as 1586. Epe was originally established as a principality by the Awori people, and today it remains an important cultural centre in the region.

Which LGA is the smallest in Nigeria?

Lagos Island is the smallest of all the local government areas in Lagos State. With only 6.1 square kilometers, it’s bordered by Badagry Creek to the west, Marina to the north, and Apapa to the south. Notable locations within this area include Victoria Island, Empress Market, and Balogun Market on Broad Street.

What is the old name of Lagos?

Before the name “Lagos” was adopted for the local government area, it was known as Eko. The name “Eko” is derived from the phrase ‘Eko o gba’ which literally means ‘we remain vigilant and protect’ in Yoruba language – a reminder to all Lagosians that they need to always guard their home and take charge of their destiny.

What are the 3 largest slums in Lagos?

Lagos is a highly populated state with a variety of local government areas. There are 20 Local Government Areas in Lagos State, divided into three major clusters – Mainland, Island, and Semi-Urban Areas. Akoka, Ebute-Metta, and Makoko are the 3 largest slums in Lagos.

They are concentrated around the Yaba area on the mainland of Lagos State, Nigeria. In these impoverished areas, many of the hundreds of thousands of people living there are unable to afford basic amenities such as potable water, sanitation, and electricity.

Leave a Comment